Winter 2016 First Impressions

Unrelated Authors Note: In the featured image, doesn’t the girl with the red hair look like Richter from Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World?

Here are my first impressions for the winter 2016 season.  I will not be picking up every single show, only the ones that interest me.  And the ones I pick up usually don’t end up being the ones I watch through the end for some reason.  This’ll be a little more casual than most of my posts.

This is going to be one long post, here are the animes I will be discussing in this post:

  • Prince of Stride: Alternative
  • Musaigen no Phantom World
  • Dagashi Kashi
  • Hai to Gensou no Grimgar
  • Haruchika: Haruta to Chika wa Seishun Suru
  • Shoujo-tachi wa Kouya wo Mezasu

Prince of Stride: Alternative

winter

The first anime I picked up is a 12 episode sports anime by Madhouse.  I’m not super fluent in studios but Madhouse has made some of the most popular (and great) animes out there including Death Note, One Punch Man and Parasyte.  I was initially interested in this anime due to a) it reminded me of Free! and b) the title seems to be like a reference to The Prince of Tennis (which I haven’t personally watched myself yet).

The first episode was interesting, I found it slightly jarring and threw you right in without any pretext.  The comedy was rather stale and I was not particularly fond of the art as it was slightly too bright for me.  And to be honest, there was not one character that I immediately liked.  It seems like a really fun watch and I really want to learn more about this “Stride” sport (which is a combination of free running and relay racing where the two legs pass off without being able to see each other)

Musaigen no Phantom World

This second anime is made by KyoAni and is a fantasy-action anime.  It takes place in a world where human imagination becomes reality, where various phantoms are appearing in the world.  It follows a couple of characters who fight Phantoms.

This was a rather fun watch and within the first episode, they packed pretty much every single anime trope in the world: annoying chibi mascot, slightly tsundere girl, a sweet and quiet girl, a generic male main character who can’t do shit, and the mysterious girl in the background…oh and there’s also some loli elementary school student we haven’t met yet.  Let’s not to mention it’s also set in a school setting.

This was fun to watch, but my hopes is that this show doesn’t try to be more than what it is, which is a fun little show about students fighting phantoms.  But if it tries to be anything more than that, it’ll just be overreaching and out of place.  I just feel like this is going to be something I watch and forget.  Oh, and the art is for the world is great, especially in that first sequence when the main character (whose name slips my mind) wakes up in the morning.

winter2

Dagashi Kashi

A fun comedy show about a boy who wants to become a manga artist, but his father wants him to succeed their family candy shop.  A strange girl from a famous candy seller comes to his small town to recruit his father but on one condition – the boy must succeed to their candy shop in order for his father to leave.

Unfortunately, I had expectations for this show, as I didn’t pick it up on a whim.  And when I have expectations, they usually aren’t met.  The show was funny but it wasn’t LOL funny, the jokes usually didn’t pack the punch and delivered it.  There weren’t any characters that I liked right off the bat (which I usually have one) and the show felt dull.  I’ll see what this show has in store.

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar

winter3

This was the show I was looking forward to the most out of this season…(mostly for the art but shh.)  Produced by A-1 Pictures, it tells the story of a group of people who find themselves in a strange world with no other prior memories.

This show plays off of very popular recent trends including: a game type setting, the genki girl (with a flat chest), the quiet shy girl (with a rather large chest), the reliable guy, and that annoying red head dude…and your generic main character.  But what sets this apart from other anime of  these tropes is the fact that these people have no idea what the hell they are doing.  Every person is struggling (and failing) at fighting and the whole group combine can’t even defeat one goblin (which is the easiest enemy).  They aren’t just going in and Kirito-ing the whole thing.  They’re at the bottom and struggling with very basic personal problems instead of trying to save the whole world.

The first episode was kinda of bland but did a good job introducing the world and characters…but nothing happened.

Haruchika: Haruta to Chika wa Seishun Suru

Hibike! Euphonium 2.0?  Made by P.A. Works, this is an anime about some kids in a wind ensemble trying to keep their band from falling apart.  And solving some mystery or something.  It was pretty typical for PA Works, but in general, wasn’t super interesting.  There was a little twist at the end, and where this show is going to go, I’m not sure.

winter4

Shoujo-tachi wa Kouya wo Mezasu

This is a show about a boy who writes screenplays for his school’s drama club, but gets asked one day by a mysterious girl in his classroom to help her in making Bishoujo games. I’m not sure how I felt about this one, the first episode was decent, it did a great job of introducing the main character and who he is, but by the end of it, I was rather bored by it. Hopefully this show will pick up.


Sorry my writing style is so loose in this post :/.  I kind of lost interest in this post with the last two shows.  As I’ve said, these aren’t the shows that I’ll 100% be watching, I’ll probably end up watching something completely different by the end.

Leave a Reply

