Top 5 Favorite Female Characters

I hate putting things into definite lists…but here I am, here are my 5 favorite female characters…let me tell you that I had a difficult time putting this together.  To be honest, I don’t watch that nearly as much anime as some people do so my choices are limited by the shows I’ve watched.

I was thinking of characters that I liked and I produced a list…and I realized that an overwhelming amount of them were, well tsundere.  I have to say, this might be a preference thing, but as far as I am concerned, coincidence.  I found my preferences to be stronger female characters who other people tend to find…annoying.  It’s just my personal opinion but the meek and reserved girl tends to be a little overused in the anime world.

shakugan no shana

Without further ado, here are my top 5…

(for any of the little gifs, you can click on them and enter a gallery)

…starting with Yusa Emi from Hataraku Maou-sama!  Yusa Emi is such a fun character in the cast of Hataraku Maou-sama.  She is able to stand for her own and fight for her own beliefs, and she has her backstory and her own motives and beliefs that drive her.  (People who are calling her stupid/annoying for refusing Maou’s kindness, she has a reason to do so) She is able to empathize for others and try her best to help.  She’s a lot of fun to watch, her interactions with the others are absolutely funny.

yusaemi

Next up is Shana… from Shakugan no Shana.  After rewatching a few episodes (more than a few lol) Shana I’ve completely rediscovered my love for the flame-haired and burning-eyed flame haze.  She was such an amazing character to watch grow and develop over the three seasons.  By the end of the three seasons, she’s a completely different person, but in the way where you can tell how she grew and matured to become who she is.  She’s got such a strong will and has the ability to make it happen.  When she invokes her powers she just looks so awesome.  (She’s also probably the reason why I like tsunderes…blame Shana)

Fun fact: We also share a love for melon-pan

Third is Makise Kurisu from Steins;gate!  (another red haired tsundere?…I think this list is getting old now).  I don’t know how much I can say about her, since it’s been a while since I’ve watched the show, but I just love seeing her on screen and her interactions with Okabe are the best thing ever!  She’s extremely mature for her age but still has her weaknesses.

aoyamaSecond is Aoyama Nanami from Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo!  Nanami is probably my favorite character from Sakurasou.  She is such a sweet and caring girl, yet she is so hard working and has a strong drive to reach her goal.  She works to pay for her tuition to become a voice actor.  She is someone to look up to, as her ambition is strong and her self-discipline is incredible. (and I am totally for Nanami and Sorata)

Despite all that, she isn’t a perfect character…I would say why, but I think if you haven’t watched the show, you should watch it to see what the true fault in her character is.  (Hint: it has something to do with her self-discipline and hard work)

Before we get to Number 1…here are some honorable mentions:

  • Hiradaira Chisaki (Chii-chan) from Nagi no Asukara
  • Chelsea from Akame Ga Kill (I was going to go with Akame, but let’s face it Chelsea is pretty cool)  Fun fact: we’re the same height.
  • Natsume Asako from Tonari no Kaibutsu-Kun (she’s just so adorable…)
  • Yuuki Asuna…let me clarify, the Aincrada Asuna that was badass and could stand for her own before becoming a heal-bot that doesn’t do anything :/  The one that does this (I don’t know why it’s so tiny)

chelsea

And number one is… *drumroll*… (and prepare yourself for gif/image overload…you can click on them to make them bigger)

Misaka Mikoto!  From the Toaru world (particularly Toaru Kagaku no Railgun because Index isn’t great).

railgunLet’s start off with how badass she is (because cool characters are badass…no?  oops).  She is an electromaster in her world, which means she is able to control and conduct electricity.  With this, she can do all sorts of cool stuff like climbing walls (that have iron beams), hacking into electronics, and her classic move, Railgun (which also is her nickname) along with a whole other plethora of skills.  Through hard work and diligence, she has trained to become the 3rd most powerful in Academy City, and it is known that she’s hardly ever goes full out on anyone.

misakamikoto4Despite that, she isn’t overpowered, she can’t even lay a finger on Accelerator, and struggles real hard with ITEM.  Yet, despite all this, she’s a completely normal girl…well not quite normal if you account for her obsession with childish items (Gekota!).  She is a loving girl who will protect her friends and do her best to keep them out of situations even if they want to help.

Misaka isn’t an intense tsundere where she is cold 24/7 (or overdoes it by smashing people’s head every 5 seconds) she is a genuinely sweet girl who tries to be nice and help others.  But when a certain spiky haired boy comes around…let’s just say she gets a little flustered.  I would like to extend on why I ship them so much but let’s keep it short here and say that they have good chemistry on screen and I just like the two of them together.  I could spend a whole post ranting on the Kamikoto ship.

(she actually doesn’t realize she likes him until much much much later)

misakamikototouma

I have a lot to say about her, but I think I’ll end it here before it gets too long… In short I like her because she makes a good main character.  She’s extremely likable, relatable and she’s just super fun to watch.

Let’s also not to forget to mention that she’s been voted most popular female character for 5 years in a row now in Kono Light Novel ga Sugoi!

And thats what I call a streak

I hope you guys have enjoyed this post!  Sorry it’s a bit long, but here’s the run down if you just skipped to here:

Honorable mentions:

  • Hiradaira Chisaki (Chii-chan) from Nagi no Asakura
  • Chelsea from Akame Ga Kill
  • Natsume Asako from Tonari no Kaibutsu-Kun
  • Shana from Shakugan no Shana

5. Yusa Emi from Hatarku Maou-sama

4. Yuuki Asuna from Sword Art Online (Aincrad Asuna)

3. Makise Kurisu from Steins;Gate

2. Aoyama Nanami from Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo

  1. Misaka Mikoto from Toaru Majutsu no Index/Toaru Kagaku no Railgun

Hopefully this wasn’t too difficult to read…and I may have put a few of them on a pedestal lol.  And by the way my favorite K-On girl is Mio hands down.  Who are your top five female characters?

Leave a Reply

